U2charist

I’ve just come back from a u2charist – a communion service where the all the “hymns” are U2 songs.  It was apparently an idea from the Episcopal church, http://www.sarahlaughed.net/u2charist/

Did I enjoy it?  Definitely, I sang along to all the songs, albeit somewhat quietly. I can’t say that many other people did though.  For me, it worked best when the songs were played as a background to the eucharist, rather than as hymns.  Perhaps that is because I am used to using music as background/ambience which you can listen to if you want.  Also some of the songs that work for me are those that express both faith and doubt such as “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for”.  Anyway anything that tries to do anything different is worth and go, and the fact that the theme of the service and the sermon was built round social action/service was good too.

Rosemary.

One response to “U2charist

  1. how about a ukulele-arist?

Leave a Reply

